Puerto Rico

A Section of the Latin American Studies Association

Section Annual Reports



Section Annual Report: Section Business Report (2020)

I. Report of the Business Meeting

a. Attendance: 17 members present (which is more than the required 10%)

b. Points Discussed:

  • Welcoming Remarks
  • Agenda Approval
  • Reports: Works done over the past year
  • Budge
  • Number of Members
  • Blanca G. Silvestrini Award for Outstanding Article in Puerto Rican Studies Report: Meeting with Section Chairs
  • Elections
  • Feedback from Active Members
  • Upcoming Events
  • Final Comments
II. List of Current Board Members
  • Jorell A. MELÉNDEZ-BADILLO (Co-Chair / Co-Presidente) Dartmouth College, Hanover, Nuevo Hampshire
  • Rachell SÁNCHEZ RIVERA (Co-Chair / Co-Presidente) University of Cambridge, Cambridge, Reino Unido
  • Aurora SANTIAGO-ORTIZ (Treasurer / Tesorera) University of Massachusetts Amherst (UMass Amherst), Amherst, Massachusetts
  • Raymond LAUREANO-ORTIZ (Secretary / Secretario) Universidad Ana G. Méndez (UAGM), Gurabo, Puerto Rico
  • Mayra VELÉZ SERRANO (Council Member / Vocal) Universidad de Puerto Rico en Río Piedras (UPR-RP), San Juan, Puerto Rico
  • Sarah MOLINARI (Graduate Student Council Member / Vocal de Estudiantes Graduadxs) The Graduate Center at the City University of New York (The Graduate Center, CUNY), Nueva York, Nueva Yok
III. Results of Section’s Elections

1) Jacqueline VILLARRUBIA-MENDOZA (Vice-president: 2 years)

  • Associate Professor of Sociology and Anthropology
  • Colgate University

2) Roberto VÉLEZ-VÉLEZ (Council Member: 2 years)

  • Department of Sociology / Program of Latin American and Caribbean Studies
  • State University of New York – New Paltz

3) Danelle GUTARRA CORDERO (Council Member: 1 year)

  • Lecturer in African American Studies & Gender and Sexuality Studies
  • Princeton University

4) Windy M. COSME ROSARIO (Graduate Council Member: 2 years)

  • Candidata Doctoral en Historia
  • Universidad de Puerto Rico, Río Piedras

5) Raymond Laureano-Ortiz (Secretary: 2 years)

  • Assistant Professor
  • Universidad Ana G. Mendez, Recinto de Gurabo
IV. Review of the Term Activities and Plans for the Coming Term

Creation of: 

  • Town Halls
  • Workshops
  • Writing Groups
  • Member of Week o Recruitment/Community Building
  • Micro-congress Puerto Rico (2022)
  • Survey of needs
  • List serves
V. Names of Section’s grantees and awardees

1) Winner of: Blanca G. Silvestrini Award for Outstanding Article in Puerto Rican Studies

  • Awardee: Hilda Lloréns (Associate Professor of Anthropology, The University of Rhode Island) and Maritza Stanhich (Professor of English at University of Puerto Rico, Río Piedras)
  • Title: “’Water is life, but the colony is a necropolis’: Environmental Terrains of Struggle in Puerto Rico" by Hilda LLORÉNS and Maritza STANCHICH. Published in Cultural Dynamics 31:1-2 (2019).

2) Honorific Mention:

  • Cristina Pérez Jiménez (Assistant Professor of English at Manhattan College)
  • Title: “Puerto Rican Colonialism, Caribbean Radicalism, and Pueblo Hispano's Inter-Nationalist Alliance” by Cristina PÉREZ JIMÉNEZ. Published in Small Axe 60 (November 2019).




1. Our Business Meeting took place Saturday, May 25th, 2019. It was attended by 11 of our members. We are attaching another document to this email with all of the things discussed in the meeting. Our inaugural reception at La Fábrica Central in Cambridge, MA took place on Saturday, May 25th, 2019 and was attended by more than 100 people.

2. We did not have elections this year, and expect to do so next year in LASA Guadalajara.

The Section’s Council is as follows:

- Jorell A. Meléndez-Badillo, Dartmouth College, Co-Chair, 2018-2020

- Rachell Sánchez, University of Cambridge, Co-Chair, 2018-2020

- Raymond Laureano, Universidad Ana G. Méndez, Secretary, 2018-2020

- Aurora Santiago-Ortiz, University of Massachusetts-Amherst, Treasurer, 2018-2020

- Margaret Power, Illinois Institute of Technology, Council Member, 2018-2020

- Harry Franqui-Rivera, Bloomfield College, Council Member, 2018-2020

- Mayra Vélez-Serrano, Universidad de Puerto Rico-Río Piedras, Council member, 2018-2020

- Sarah Molinari, CUNY Graduate Center, Graduate Student Council Member, 2018-2020

3. LASA Puerto Rico has a vibrant agenda for the next year.

Some of them are:

a) LASA PR – Newsletter: - We will have our first newsletter in August 2019, and will continue to publish it online bi-annually.

b) Member of the Week: - Using our social media, we will be showcasing our members’ work and contributions to the fields of Puerto Rican Studies

c) Prizes: - We will continue with the “Blanca G. Silvestrini Prize for Outstanding Article in Puerto Rican Studies” - In LASA Guadalajara we will also be inaugurating the “Lifetime Achievement Award for Impact in Puerto Rican Studies ”

d) Travel Grants for Graduate Students and Adjunct Faculty

e) We have three (3) panels for LASA Guadalajara:

- On July 15, 2019 we will be releasing a Call for Papers to give our members the opportunity to submit proposals.

4. The names of the Section’s grantees. The names of the selection committee members and a description of the selection process. The following information should be included for the awardees:

• LASA-Puerto Rico • Blanca G. Silvestrini Award for Outstanding Article in Puerto Rican Studies

• Selection Committee:

• Solsiree del Moral, Amherst College

• José Fusté, UC-San Diego

• Sandy Plácido, Queens College

• Awardee: Petra Rivera-Rideau

• Wellesley College

• “Petra R. Rivera-Rideau; “If I Were You”: Tego Calderón’s Diasporic Interventions. Small Axe 1 March 2018; 22 (1 (55)): 55–69.

doi: https://doi.org/10.1215/07990537-4378924