Economics and Politics

A Section of the Latin American Studies Association

Section Annual Report 2019


Authors: Fabrício H. Chagas-Bastos, Chair Joseph Marques, Secretary and Treasurer

date: 28 June 2019

1. Leadership

The new leadership took over in January 2018 for the 2018-2020 term and consists of the following members:

Chair: Fabrício H. Chagas-Bastos 

Secretary and Treasurer: Joseph Marques

Executive Committee:

  • Leslie Armijo  
  • Mahrukh Doctor
  • Anthony Spanakos 
  • Sean Burges

2. Membership and Treasury

The section has 111 members as of today’s date (28 June 2019). The membership is stable in comparison to 2018 (116 members), but still below 2017 levels (128 members).

The treasurer reports that the section has USD 5,070.40 as of 28 June 2019. In 2019 our expenses were:

• Two travel grants of USD 400 each (USD 800)

• Best Article Award of USD 150

3. Panels sponsored

Based on membership size by December 2018, the section can sponsor 2 panels for the 2020 LASA Annual Conference in Guadalajara (MEX).

The section sponsored two panels for the 2019 LASA Annual Conference in Boston (please, refer to Conference Program for further details):

Lights and Shadows of Latin American Populism. Fri, May 24, 4:00 to 5:30 pm.

International Policy Cooperation in South America: Recent History and Expectations. Sun, May 26, 9:00 to 10:30 am.

4. Prizes and Grants

After a lapse in our 2017-2018 edition, the 2019 awards considered scholarship published in both 2017 and 2018. We received five submissions to the Best Article Award and only one to the Early Career Scholars Award —by doing so, the ExCom decided to judge them altogether.

The 2019 Best Article Award Committee awarded its prize to Tasha Fairfield (LSE) and Candelaria Garay (Harvard) for their Redistribution Under the Right in Latin America: Electoral Competition and Organized Actors in Policymaking.

The Committee also awarded an Honourable Mention to Claudia Kedar for her The International Monetary Fund and the Chilean Chicago Boys, 1973-7: Cold Ties between Warm Ideological Partners.

All papers are available through the link:

The 2019 Travel Grant Committee awarded grants to Maria Luisa Rendon Puertas and José Manuel Puente

We thank the members of the committees for their service.

5. Summary of the 2019 E+P Section business meeting

Quorum: 5 members


a. Review of the activities

  • See items 2 to 4 of this report

b. Section 2019 prizes

c. Plans for the coming term (2020)

  • Based on membership size by December 2018, the section can sponsor 2 panels for the 2020 LASA Annual Conference in Guadalajara (MEX).
  • Elections for section leadership will be called on March 2020