Political Institutions

A Section of the Latin American Studies Association

News & Notes

Dear Fellow LAPIS Members,

We are writing to request nominations (or self-nominations) for the 2023 Political Institutions Section Donna Lee Van Cott Book Award.

This award will be given to the best book on Latin American Political Institutions published in 2023.

Only section members can nominate or self-nominate books for this award (so if you haven’t yet renewed your membership to LAPIS, this is the time to do it!).

Note that the book award should be limited to "full-length monographs" (one or several people are the sole or co-authors of the entire book). Edited volumes are not eligible for the award.

The nominations must be submitted via email to the members of the book award committee (see below).

A copy of the nominated book must also be mailed/couriered to each of three committee members to the addresses below.

The deadline to submit nominations is Thursday, January 26. (Nominations or books received after that date will not be considered for the award.)

The award will be announced before the 2024 LASA Congress.

To be considered for the award please send the book nomination, including title, author, and a brief description, to the following email addresses:

Virginia Oliveros: volivero@tulane.edu

Calla Hummel: chummel@miami.edu

Laura Gamboa: laura.gamboa@utah.edu

Please have the book sent via mail to the following addresses:

Virginia Oliveros

Political Science Department Tulane University 6823 St. Charles Avenue Norman Mayer Building, Room 311 New Orleans, LA 70118

Calla Hummel

Department of Political Science University of Miami 1300 Campo Sano, Office 160F Coral Gables, FL 33146

Laura Gamboa

Harvard University David Rockefeller Center for Latin American Studies 1730 Cambridge St. Cambridge, MA 02138

All the best,

Rodrigo Barrenechea


There are no news items currently available.