A Section of the Latin American Studies Association

Section Annual Report 2019

Section Annual Report 2018-2019

A. We had 30 people present at our meeting.

B. We elected 3 people to our standing committee:

  • Ramon Centeno, Universidad de Sonora
  • Sophie Esch, Rice University
  • Juan García Oyervides, University of Colorado at Boulder

C. We had 4 section panels at LASA, and we had several awards. We discussed changes to the awards and the possibility of putting together a constitution of sorts for the group.

D. Awards:
Premio artículo Ciencias Sociales
 Winner: José Angel Hernández, University of Houston

The Decree of 19 August 1848: The First Repatriation Commissions and Postwar Settlements Along the U.S.-Mexico Borderlands

Premio Artículo Humanidades

 Winner: Laura Torres-Rodríguez, New York University

Into the 'Oriental' Zone: Edward Said and Mexican Literature

Honorable Mention:

Mónica Salas Landa, Lafayette College

(In)visible Ruins: The Politics of Monumental Reconstruction in Postrevolutionary Mexico

Premio de Libro de Ciencias Sociales

Winner: Andrew Konove, University of Texas, San Antonio

Black Market Capital: Urban Politics and the Shadow Economy in Mexico City(University of California Press)

Honorable Mention:

  • Alyshia Gálvez, City University of New York

Eating NAFTA: Trade, Food Policies, and the Destruction of Mexico (University of California Press)

  •  Sarah Ohsten, University of Vermont

The Mexican Revolution's Wake: The Making of a Political System, 1920-1929 (Cambridge University Press)

Premio Libro de Humanidades

Winner: Sophie Esch, Rice University

Modernity at Gunpoint: Firearms, Politics, and Culture in Mexico and Central America(University of Pittsburgh Press)

Honorable Mention:

  • David Dalton, University of North Carolina, Charlotte

Mestizo Modernity: Race, Technology, and the Body in Post-Revolutionary Mexico(University of Florida Press)

  •  Sarah J. Townsend, Pennsylvania State University

The Unfinished Art of Theater: Avant-Garde Intellectuals in Mexico and Brazil(Northwestern University Press)

Premio Tesis Doctoral

Presented by the Mexico Section

Winner: Vincent Dereck Cervantes, the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

México Necrótico: Queer Readings of the Politics of Death

Honorable Mention

José Roberto Cruz Arzabal, Universidad Iberoamericana/ UNAM

Cuerpos Híbridos: Presencia Y Materialidad En La Escritura Mexicana Reciente



  • Roberto Cruz Arzabal
  • David Dalton


  • Rafael Acosta