A Section of the Latin American Studies Association

Section Annual Report 2019

LASA Brazil Section Annual Report (2018-19)

5 July 2019

1). The Executive Committee of the Brazil Section for 2019-20 consisted of the following members:

  • Nelson Cerqueira, Co-Chair in Brazil
  • Adam Joseph Shellhorse, Co-Chair
  • Mónica González García, Treasurer
  • Odile Cisneros
  • Paulo Andrade
  • Ana Amelia Melo

2). The business meeting took place on Sunday, May 26th at 9 a.m., with 25 members present. One issue discussed was to make sure that all members’ emails are current in the LASA data system. Section initiatives were also discussed and awards announced.

3). The results of Section elections, which were conducted electronically, were as follows: Total Votes: 35

1. Nelson Cerqueira, Co-Chair in Brazil (for 1 year)  Yes: 33 · No: 2

2. Mónica González García, Treasurer Yes: 34 · No: 1

3. E.C. (two newly elected Executive Committee members)

  • Benjamin Junge: 26. Department of Anthropology State University of New York-New Paltz 1 Hawk Drive, WSB 236 New Paltz, NY 12561 USA
  •  Alessandra Santos: 24. Department of French, Hispanic & Italian Studies University of British Columbia Vancouver Campus BuTo Rm 797 1873 East Mall Vancouver, BC Canada V6T 1Z1
  • Felix Fanuel Xavier Rodrigues: 20

4. A review of the term activities and plans for the coming term.

By popular vote, this year the Section passed two initiatives regarding extending the possibility of receiving a travel award to all members and establishing a Best Master’s Thesis award in both Humanities and Social Sciences (see below). Second, the EC agreed to invite outside qualified judges to moderate the Best Book, Best Article, and Best Dissertation competitions. The external judges were first nominated and voted on by all EC members. Finally, the Section held its annual reception at the LASA International Congress in Boston, at Fogo de Chão, on Sunday, May 26th from 7:00-10:00 p.m.

Result of ballot initiatives 2019

I. When sufficient funds are available, offer partial travel awards on a competitive basis to current dues paying scholars whose papers have been accepted for presentation at LASA. The total amount granted will not exceed 22% of the Brazil Section’s reserve funds. Criteria for selection will be determined by members of the Executive Committee and will include quality and originality of the work presented, as well as financial need.

*Note: the previous cap for Section travel grants was 15%, and the grant was given to graduate students and independent and unemployed scholars.

Yes/Sim: 97% No/Não: 3%

II. Establish a Brazil Section Prize for Best Master’s Thesis in two categories -- Social Sciences and Humanities -- allowing authors of interdisciplinary or trans-disciplinary works to choose the category in which they wish their work to be judged. Beginning in 2019-2020, the Brazil Section will award two best Master’s thesis prizes. The Executive Committee shall reserve the option to combine categories if too few submissions are received to merit separate competitions in any given year.

Yes/Sim: 72% No/Não: 28%

5). Travel Awards

This year the Section awarded 7 travel awards––$400 per award––for a total of $2800.

The winners of the award were as follows:


2) Camila Matos, Ph.D. Student

3) Renan Quinalha, Professor de Direito, lawyer and professor

4) Esther Solano, professora Universidade Federal de São Paulo

5) Leila Vieira, Ph.D. Student

6) Priscilla Peixoto, Professora

7) Chiara Del Gaudio, Professora da Universidade do Vale do Rio dos Sinos

6). LASA Brazil Section 2018, Section Prizes Best Book in the Humanities - Melhor Livro em Humanidades (Antonio Candido Prize)

Judges: Marshall C. Eakin, Christopher Dunn, Alessandra Santos

Ana Paulina Lee (Columbia University),

Mandarin Brazil: Race, Representation, and Memory (Stanford University Press).

Honorable Mention:

Maite Conde (University of Cambridge),

Foundational Films: Early Cinema and Modernity in Brazil (University of California Press)


César Braga-Pinto (Northwestern University),

A violência das letras: amizade e inimizade na literatura brasileira (1888-1940) (EdUERJ)

Best Book Prize in Social Sciences - Melhor Livro em Ciências Sóciais (Sérgio Buarque de Holanda Prize)

Judges: Sean T. Mitchell, Teresa Cribelli, and Carlos Eduardo Henning

Karina Biondi (Federal University of São Carlos),

Proibido roubar na quebrada: Território, hierarquia e lei no PCC (Editora Terceiro Nome)

Honorable Mention:

Kathleen M. Millar (Simon Fraser University),

Reclaiming the Discarded: Life and Labor on Rio's Garbage Dump (Duke University Press)


Anne G. Hanley (Northern Illinois University),

The Public Good and the Brazilian State: Municipal Finance and Public Services in São Paulo, 1822–1930(University of Chicago Press)

Best Article in Humanities - Melhor Artigo em Ciências Humanas (Antonio Candido Prize)

Judges: Mary Ann Mahony and Pedro Rabelo Erber

Isabel Gómez, (University of Massachusetts, Boston)

Gómez, Isabel. “Anti-Surrealism? Augusto de Campos ‘Untranslates’ Spanish-American Poetry.” Mutatis Mutandis, vol. 11, no. 2, pp. 376–399.

Honorable Mention:

César A. Braga-Pinto, (Northwestern University)

Braga-Pinto, César A. “From Abolitionism to Blackface: The Vicissitudes of Uncle Tom in Brazil.” Uncle Tom’s Cabins: The Transnational History of America’s Most Mutable Book, edited by Tracy C. Davis and Stefka Mihaylova, U of Michigan P, 2018, pp. 225–257.


Lena Oak Suk, (University of Louisiana, Lafayette)

Suk, Lena Oak. “‘Only the Fragile Sex Admitted’: The Women’s Restaurant in 1920s São Paulo, Brazil.” Journal of Social History, vol. 51, no. 3, Spring 2018, pp. 592–620.

Best Article in Social Sciences - Melhor Artigo em Ciências Sóciais (Sérgio Buarque de Holanda prize)

Judges: Cassia Roth, Fabrício H. Chagos Bastos, and Matthew Taylor

Charles H. Klein, (Portland State University); Sean T. Mitchell, (Rutgers University, Newark); and Benjamin Junge, (State University of New York-New Paltz)

Klein, Charles H., et al. “Naming Brazil’s Previously Poor: ‘New Middle Class’ as an Economic, Political, and Experiential Category.” Economic Anthropology, vol. 5, no. 1, Jan. 2018, pp. 83– 95.

Honorable Mention:

Natália S. Bueno, (Emory University)

Bueno, Natália S. “Bypassing the Enemy: Distributive Politics, Credit Claiming, and Nonstate Organizations in Brazil.” Comparative Political Studies, vol. 51, no. 3, Mar. 2018, pp. 304–340.

Best Dissertation in Humanities – Melhor Tese em Humanidades (Antonio Candido Prize)

Judges: Adriana Michele Campos Johnson, Leila Lehnen, Eli Lee Carter

Thaís Waldman (Universidade de São Paulo), Entre batismos e degolas: (des)caminhos bandeirantes em São Paulo

Honorable Mention

Andrew Graham Britt (Northwestern University), “I’ll Samba Someplace Else”: Constructing Identity and Neighborhood in São Paulo

Best Dissertation in Social Sciences – Melhor Tese em Ciências Sóciais (Sérgio Buarque de Holanda prize)

Judges: Ana Paula Camelo, Ivani Vassoler-Froelich, Laurie Denyer Willis

Meryleen Mena, (University of Colorado, Boulder) Women Detained: Justice and Institutional Violence in São Paulo’s Criminal Justice System

Honorable Mention

Pedro Mendes Loureiro (University of Cambridge), The Ebb and Flow of the Pink Tide: Reformist Development Strategies in Brazil and Argentina

Juan Albarracín Dierolf (Universidad Icesi), Criminalized Electoral Politics. The Socio-Political Foundations of Electoral Coercion in Democratic Brazil